thefantasybookworm

thoughts and reviews from a bookworm


Top 5 Wednesday #3

It’s time for a T5W (Top 5 Wednesday) post! (T5W Group) Top 5 Wednesday is a bookish meme hosted on Goodreads! Each week you get a topic and you come up with your Top 5 characters, books, or any other answers (depending on the prompt)!

This weeks topic is: Recent Purchases! Most book lovers have a hard time going too long without a book purchase. What are five books you’ve purchased recently that you’re excited to read or you’ve loved?

Well this one’s not hard at all – I seem to always have a recent purchase to share!

Ariadne – Jennifer Saint

The most recent book I’ve received (not quite purchased, but this works too) is Ariadne by Jennifer Saint. I love Greek Mythology, ever since I first read Percy Jackson when I was about 15. I’ve recently read The Song of Achilles and Lore as well and then followed those up by reading Ariadne as soon as I got it. I really enjoyed Ariadne, it was a beautiful story of sisterhood and the struggles of women.

Grace and Glory – Jennifer L. Armentrout

Next is Grace and Glory by Jennifer L. Armentrout, I can’t imagine I’m the only person who has discovered more of Armentrout’s books thanks to From Blood and Ash, and also TikTok. I have read so many of her books this year (21, including re-reading From Blood and Ash and Kingdom of Flesh and Fire) and I loved this series as well! This was not my favourite book of the series, but I still enjoyed it.

Mister Impossible – Maggie Stiefvater

Mister Impossible by Maggie Stiefvater is a recent acquisition as well (not a recent purchase because I pre-ordered the OwlCrate version). I just started reading Call Down the Hawk for the first time, which is crazy because Stiefvater is one of my top favourite authors and I can’t believe I’ve pushed it off for so long! I am happy to have Mister Impossible to read right away however!

The Prophecy & The Struggle – Jennifer L. Armentout

I actually bought this whole series all at the same time (Titan – Jennifer L. Armentout), so obviously the Armentrout love continues. I love this series, I loathe the covers, haha. I hate real people like this on the covers but thankfully now that they are read and on the shelf all you can see is the spine, and those don’t bother me. Loved the series, love all her characters – anybody into any sort of modern-fantasy is gonna love these!

Well, that’s my five for this week! This topic could come up again and again and I’d always have answers!



3 responses to “Top 5 Wednesday #3”

  1. Great book haul! I’m glad you were able to enjoy all of them.

    Like

  2. That cover of Ariadne is GORGEOUS!!

    Like

    1. Right! It’s incredible!

      Like

Leave a comment