Little Free Library

I often end up having a pile of old books, or books I didn’t particularly enjoy pile up near the thrift store bag with old clothes and random items. Usually they just go straight to the thrift store with the clothing, but I decided to something a little different this weekend. I had seen a post on one of my family’s FaceBook pages about their Free Little Library. I had visited one before but had never thought anything else of it. So this time I decided to look up their website. And now it is already my new favorite way of donating old books.

If you’ve never heard of Little Free Library I urge you to go on their website and check them out and see if there are any in your town/city!

Little Free Library is a non-profit “take a book, leave a book” free book exchange. More often than not they are little wooden boxes filled with books! People most commonly have them in their front yards, sometimes they are near schools or parks. As of June 2016 they have reached 40,000 Libraries worldwide.

The Little Free Library mission: “To promote literacy and the love of reading by building free book exchanges worldwide and to build a sense of community as we share skills, creativity and wisdom across generations.”

It was really fun finding these Libraries and looking through the books. It’s such a good way to get new books! We went to four different libraries, I only took one book out, but I put three in. (One library was too full for any more books!)

IMG_1779

Charter #2797

My very first Library visit!

Charter #19580

Beautiful artwork on this one! This is the Library that I took a book from. I got:

Give Your Heart to the Hawks: A Tribute to the Mountain Men by Win Blevins

Charter #9827

This Library was actually on the yard of a school! Really beautiful artwork on the back!

IMG_1792

Charter #11465

This was the last one we visited and it was packed full of books! You can fit a surprising amount of books in there!

The book I got is way different than the fantasy/paranormal/dystopian books I usually read, but I think that’s the fun of the Libraries. You get to expand your reading horizons!

Leave a Reply

