Shelf Control #1 – The Cellist of Sarajevo

Shelf Control is all about the books we want to read and already own! Sometimes the best books are right underneath our noses!

Each Wednesday, following Bookshelf Fantasies I will be highlighting one book off of my large pile of unread books that I own! Hopefully it will spark some interest and encourage me to read just a little more!

My Shelf Control pick of the week is:

image

Title: The Cellist of Sarajevo

Author: Steven Galloway

Published: February 6, 2009

Length: 258 Pages

Synopsis via Goodreads: Sarajevo, a city under siege. As the mortars falls and snipers conduct their deadly business, a cellist sits at his window, playing Albinoni’s adagio. When a bomb kills twenty-two people waiting in line to buy bread on the street below, he vows to carry his cello into the cratered street at four each afternoon for the next twenty-two days and play the same adagio in memory of the dead. Unknown to the cellist, a young woman watches his performances more avidly than anyone else. For she is the counter-sniper chosen to protect him from the enemy she knows lurks nearby with gun poised and ready to shoot. Can she keep the cellist alive? And what will it cost her to do so?

How I Got It: My boyfriend bought it for me, he read this book in school and it was his favorite.

When I Got It: September 24, 2013 (Thanks Goosdreads for having that exact date.)

Why I Want to Read it: Mostly because my boyfriend bought it for me, he is not an avid reader so usually when he tells me to read something, I do. I think it’s so different from what I normally read and it hasn’t come up in my TBR jar because I keep adding new books, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Link to Bookshelf Fantasies latest Shelf Control post!

image

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Shelf Control #1 – The Cellist of Sarajevo

Leave a Reply

